Jordan's Story

I grew up in foster care in Medway Kent. You’re supposed to stay in care until you’re 18 years old but at 17 I’d had enough of moving from one home to the next and decided to do my own thing, so I ran away.

I was living in different hostels and with mates for most of the time but as I was still deemed a minor I managed to get my own place when I was 18 years old. I wasn’t there long as I was used to moving on, so when my dad got in touch over Facebook I decided it was time I met him and off I went to Birmingham. It didn’t really work out though so it was time to up and run again. I’d got used to this way of life, just leaving when things got a bit tricky or I found myself in trouble so it didn’t really bother me at the time.

By now I was addicted to weed and I was taking crack, heroin and cocaine as well. I was stealing to fund my habit, I’d been in and out of prison twice and I was wearing a tag. I seemed to be getting myself into more and more trouble so I decided the best thing to do would be to run away to London. I knew one person in Tottenham so that’s where I headed. That was in February 2013.

I stayed with my friend for a while but by September 2013 I’d lived in about 29 different places in the past 12 months, then I found myself in Conway House. This is the longest I’ve ever lived anywhere in my life, I’ve made some good friends here and my key worker Nabil has really helped me to see that I can start to sort my life out if I want to.

When I got to Conway House I was still taking drugs but I’m clean now and I have been for the last 4-5 months. I’ve started to think about the future and where I would like to be. I’ve got to be honest I am struggling a bit at the moment though. Now I’m clean and I’m trying to get a job but financially I’m worse off than I’ve ever been which isn’t great. I’m used to having nice clothes and money in my pocket, but then I’ve always had one eye over my shoulder for the police as well I suppose. I know I’m the boy who cried wolf one too many times but I feel like I’m at a cross roads and I need help.

Nabil and the friends I’ve made at Conway are doing that for me and other than the financial side of things I am the happiest I have ever been. I suffer from both anxiety and anger issues and being here is helping me to understand and control these feelings before they get out of hand.

I’m giving out my CV and looking for work, I’m also hoping to get some voluntary work at Kentish Town City Farm. I’ve always loved animals and I would really like a job working with them.

It’s hard at the moment but I’m doing the best I can. I’ve been put forward for an award with Camden Adult Pathway for my progress and I’m going to be performing at the awards ceremony which I know is really good. But mostly I’m just taking each day as it comes and just trying to stay positive about my future, which is a lot more than I was doing 12 months ago.